Doris Karlik Local Scholarships for Women

Through our Charitable Foundation, our branch will once again offer Doris Karlik Local Scholarships to women who are residents of Palm Beach County; U.S. citizens by birth or naturalization; and are attending or planning to attend an accredited Florida college, university, or trade school. Since 1999, 59 deserving students have received awards, ranging from $500 to $1,000.

Applicants must have a 3.0 grade point average or higher and submit the completed application form, along with an unofficial college transcript (or high school transcript for high school seniors) and personal statements of career goals and the need for a scholarship (as described on the form.)

The deadline for applications this year is March 22, 2024. Download the application here: 2024-AAUW-NPBC-Scholarship-Application.

For questions, contact Mary Jane Saunders, branch scholarship committee chair, using the Contact Us page or email

Recent winners

2023 — Eight women received $1,000 awards

Grace Cram will be a senior at Palm Beach Atlantic University majoring in English and minoring in creative writing.
Marlena Hutchinson will be a freshman at the University of Florida after her graduation from Wellington Community High School this spring.
Karson Ilhardt will be a sophomore in the biology pre-veterinarian medicine program at the Innovation Academy of the University of Florida.
Kylie Ilhardt will be a senior at the Hicks Honor College of the University of North Florida with a nursing major and psychology minor.
Kristen Jameson-Kempf will be a junior at Palm Beach State College. She will receive her paralegal associate’s degree this spring and then continue to a bachelor’s degree program in supervision and management.
Jenna Kercheville will be a sophomore at Florida College, Temple Terrace, FL, studying nursing.
Ana Sanchez will be a junior at Palm Beach State College in the nursing program.
Alice Tsybuiski will be a freshman at the FAU Wilkes Honors College with a major in neuroscience after graduating from West Boca Raton High School.

2022  — Eight women received $1,000 awards

Isabella DiPaola is a graduate of Pope John Paul II School and will be a senior biology major at Florida Atlantic University this fall.
Ben-Gina Fantaisie is a senior at Atlantic Community High School and accepted to Florida State University in the fall. Naomi Francisco is a senior at Suncoast High School.
Naomi Francisco is a senior at Suncoast High School.
Jenna Kercheville is a Seminole Ridge High School senior and has dual-enrolled at Palm Beach State College.
Erin Leahy is a graduate of West Boca Raton High School and is a freshman biology major at Florida Atlantic University.
Megan Serin is an ecology major at Florida Atlantic University.
Amiyah Stringer is a graduate of Suncoast Community High School and will be a junior information science major at the University of North Florida.
Isabella Whedbee is a senior at Palm Beach Central High School.


$1,000 scholarship: Keyanna Diaz, Florida Atlantic University; Natasha Worrell, Florida Atlantic University; Andrea Carey, Wilkes Honors College of Florida Atlantic University; and Emalee Cortright, Florida Atlantic University


$1,000 scholarship: Alexis Swearingen, University of South Florida; Olivia Curtis, Florida Atlantic University; and Elizabeth Fischer, Palm Beach State College


$1,000 scholarship: Daijah Poitier Atkins, Florida Memorial University; Areli Resendiz Pacheo, Florida Atlantic University; and McKenna Annalyn King, Florida Atlantic University;  $500 scholarship: Gina Rose Vallarella and Gabriella Quntanar. Florida Atlantic University


$1,000 scholarship: Kimberly Gordon, Jameesha Rock, Laura Angelie Diaz;  $500 scholarship: Pamela Gores


Kassandra Cabrieles and Julissa Maldonado, Palm Beach State College, and Laura Diaz, Florida Atlantic University


$1,000 scholarship: Katherine Roman, Palm Beach State College; Lauren Staff, University of Florida; and Kimberly Richardson, Florida International University.

(Pictured above: Laura Angelie Diaz,  Jameesha Rock, Pamela Gores, 2018 scholarship winners, with Doris Karlik, second from left.)